Take a View – Highly Commended

Hi guys,

Some more fab news for you all, the Take a View – Landscape Photographer of the Year awards have been announced, and I’m very pleased to say that my photo which can be viewed here, was highly commended.

Whilst I’m obviously dissapointed that my shot didn’t win, I’m still very pleased, as the photo will be included in the Take a View book, and will be exhibited at the National Theatre in London, between the following dates 5th December 2009 – 24th January 2010, so if you’re in the area pop along for a look! I may also win some prize money, which would be an added bonus!

I’ve mentioned before that I commute from Cheltenham to Bristol on a daily basis, and whilst this is a pain, it does offer me a good 1 hour of peace and quiet during which time I contemplate photography ideas and scout out new locations.

Whilst trundling down the motorway, I noticed these little brick huts in the middle of a field, and immediately the image below popped into my head. I seem to have been blessed with quite an over active imagination and I get such a buzz out of visualising an image an image and then seeing the final product on screen, pretty much as it was first envisaged.

Anyway, I seem to be going through quite a dark phase with my photography, I’m not entirely sure why this is but regardless I’m really pleased with the results I’m getting…i do promise a more uplifting photo next time!

A bigger version can be viewed here

Just for your viewing pleaseure / displeasure, below is a close up of the figure in the doorway:

I deliberately wanted to create an unsettling shot, and hopefully i’ve acheived this. It’s my intention to print the photo at 16″ x 12″, and at this size you won’t be able to quite make out the strange details of the figure in the doorway, just to unnerve the viewer a touch more!

I would love to hear your comments on this shot!

Until next time….

~ by imagespike on October 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
