Heaven Gazing

Hi guys,

Apologies for the late post, I’ve been away for a few weeks on holiday, I should have said really but oh well! i have a few updates for you all with regards my recent competition submissions. Unfortunately I didn’t get anywhere with the Taylor Wessing Portrait competition, which is a real shame especially as I feel that my portraits have improved significantly…oh well! On the positive side, I have been contacted again by the judging panel at the Take a View competition (Landscape Photographer of the Year) and have been asked for a passage of text which would be used to accompany my photograph should it be published in the book of winners.

I wouldn’t have thought that they would ask me for text if they were not planning on publishing my photo so at the very least I’m hoping to get published in a mainstream book. I’m trying not to think about the possibility of winning the first prize of £10,000!

On another plus, I’ve also managed to secure a vacant shop unit in Cheltenham town centre for an exhibition of my work. The unit is located in a relatively new retail developmnet at a former brewery. The unit has remained vacant for a number of months now, and due to thr current recession i don’t think the complex owners are anticipating letting it out in the near future. Therefore to maintain visual interest within the complex, in conjunction with the local art gallery the unit is being used for the display of artwork. I’ve managed in booking the venue for a one month period starting on the 19th April 2010. Fingers crossed the unit will remain vacant until then!

Anyway, newsflash over!

I’ve recently had a few comments about the content of my blog along the lines that the photos are getting a tad too dark in nature. I must admit I hadn’t really noticed this, being to pre-occupied with my work! Anyway, to buck the trend and because I’m still in holiday mode, I thought I’d share a photo from my last holiday to Ibiza:

A nice big version can be viewed at the end of this link

I hope this shot injects a bit of much needed colour into the blog!

Thats enough from me for this week, until next time!

~ by imagespike on September 28, 2009.

2 Responses to “Heaven Gazing”

  1. I’ve been checking out the photos in that studio, I have a look everytime I go the cinema. Do you have a way of sending you an email ?

  2. Hi Dan,

    I just dropped you an email…

    Cheers,

    Matt

Leave a Reply

 
