Socket

Hey hey hey! I’m getting better with my frequency of posts…only two days behind schedule! I do have a really good excuse; it was my thirtieth birthday over the weekend so there was quite a bit of celebrating to be done! I was planning on posting a landscape shot this week but as the weekend was all about me I thought that this week’s post should be as well!

There was a bit of a build up to this week’s shot and it started during my commute home from work. I have a 1 hour drive from the office to my flat, and during this time my mind invariably drifts to photography in one way or another. Last night’s drive home was no exception, and I soon found myself thinking about post processing portraits.

To give you a flavour, I stated wondering what would happen if you manipulated the lightness channel in LAB mode using a combination of selective colour channels and blending modes… …Wow I can hear you all gasp, “What could be the result of such crazy post processing?” Well, as soon as I made it home I set about my idea.

Unfortunately I soon realised that I didn’t have the right photo on my hard disk to work with so with the help of my Nikon tethered to my laptop, yours truly stepped into the breach! The results were not as I expected, but that’s the great thing about photoshop, it can be so unpredictable! Anyway after about 5 hours of post processing and a very late finish (I’ve said before I love post processing in complete darkness) I finished my shot below:

This image should be viewed big HERE

As ever, if anyone has any specific queries on the above image then don’t hesitate to drop me a comment on the blog, then as soon as i get chance I’ll email you a response!

Until next time!

~ by imagespike on August 11, 2009.

2 Responses to “Socket”

  1. Why so much post processing ? … You can have too much of a good thing.

  2. Hi John,

    Firstly many thanks for taking the time to stop by my blog.

    Post processing is a major part of my digital workflow, for which i openly admit throughout my blog.

    For the image ideas that i have, there is absolutely no way that I could acheive them using a camera alone, and thus the need for post processing.

    Having regard to the extent of my processing, I stop working the image when i have acheived the look that I had originally pre-conceived.

    Whilst it may be too much for some individuals, it is perfect for me and my style.

    I always appreciate other peoples opinions and would like to see some of your work, to see what you perceive to be the correct level of post processinng 🙂

    Regards,

Leave a Reply

 
