Prosthesis

Hey folks

Again I’ve been mega busy as of late, soo I haven’t been able to post as regularly as I would like, but such is life, no rest for the wicked! Much of my time has been spent preparing photos for a couple of competitions that I have entered. The first is the National Portrait Gallery – Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize, which as you might expect is for portraits! The second is the Take a View – Landscape Photographer of the Year, that’s right you guessed it, is for landscapes…woohoo! In all I’ve entered 21 photographs, which I can tell you is hardwork!

Anyway, everything has been entered, so fingers crossed…first prizes are £12,000 and £10,000 respectively…what would i do with £22k he dreams! In addition to all that, i’ve also been preparing my secret photography project which I mentioned in my last post, and which unfortunately I can’t yet share with anyone…:-(

Right then, back to this weeks post. The shot below is one of the images entered into the National Portrait Gallery competition. As I’m sure you all now appreciate, I’m totally obsessed with photography, and so am always on the look out for a photography opportunity. So, imagine myy delight when I happened upon a pair of artifical legs in a local antique shop. Well, to be honest, they are not prosthesis as this post suggests, but are in fact for keeping the shape of riding boots…don’t you know!

After a quick incursion into the said antique shop, the proprietor allowed me to borrow them for a couple of days. Trust me, two days isn’t a long time to source a model (especially one without legs), and a suitable loction but  I managed to crack it and bellow is the finished shot:

The model was lit using two strobes, the first was fired through an umbrella behing the camera and just to the right, in order to acheive a Rembrandt lighting effect. The second flash was fired through a snoot positioned just to the right front of the camera and directed at the models dress, in order to bring textures in the clothing.

The final image was then subject to fairly limited post-processing, which involved conversion to monochrome and then some work maximising the tonal range of the shot.

Right, that’s almost it for this week, aside from a big thankyou to Nichola for standing in as a model at such short notice (also, not the use of the word “standing” Nichola does indeed have legs!).

Until next time…happy snapping!

~ by imagespike on July 20, 2009.

2 Responses to “Prosthesis”

  1. This is a quality black and white image. You have captured a good depth to her and I hope it did not hurt her much. lol Nice one Matt. paul

  2. Thanks Paul, glad you like, the snoot / grid on the strobe worked really well as I managed to grab some great specular highlights on ths clothing which certainly increased the tonal range.

    The model was fine after a couple of paracetamol!

Leave a Reply

 
