A Soldiers Story

Hi folks!

Well, its’s that time of the week again, time for another nice photo for you!

It’s really strange how my photography has evolved since starting this blog. In the beginning it was all about landscape photography, but over time i’ve become more and more interested in snapping people. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still just as passionate about landscape photography, but there is something special about capturing the life of someone in the moment it takes to release the shutter.

I used to always complain about never having a constant supply of models to shoot, and it was for this reason that i started wandering the streets looking for interesting folk to shoot. It was during one of my little photography missions that I bumped into this chap…Dimitri.

I always ask permission to take a photo of someone, and so quickly struck up a conversation with Dimitri, who had a fantastic story to tell. Dimitri was originally a soldier in the Ukranian army, and after almost being killed in disturbances in South Ossetia, fled his military life and came to the UK, where he has lived and worked ever since.

Dimitri explained to me that he was very glad that he survived his time in the military as otherwise he wouldn’t have been able to marry three times!

This shot needs to be viewed big HERE

As ever, significant work was undertaken with the post processing on this shot, and by the end I had so many layers that the 4 gig of memory in my laptop wasn’t enough so I had to break the image down into three seperate psd files.

I think the finished result was well worth all the complex editing!

Untill next week!

~ by imagespike on May 17, 2009.

4 Responses to “A Soldiers Story”

  1. hi nice site you have

  2. hi..nice touch up..really like it..will u teach me?

  3. Many thanks Wyeth 🙂

  4. Hi Arie,

    I’m afraid I don’t have the time to teach people specifically. If you have any specific queries on a shot then I will do my best to help!

    Cheers,

Leave a Reply

 
