Travel Photographer…or Not?

Hi Folks!

Well, it shouldn’t come as any surprise that things have been mage hectic! Week before last I got back from Vilamoura – Portugal after doing my travel photographer test. It was a really difficult day, I had to leave my flat at 4:30am to catch a 7:30am flight from Bristol out to Faro, so as you can imagine, I was pretty tired! But, after grabbing the hire car and crunching a few gears (left hand drive), the adrenalin along with the sat nav kicked in and I made my way to the first hotel.

What a pile of shit. I couldn’t believe it, although the hotel had arranged for a photagrapher to visit the property, they did so knowing that the building was being repainted?!…Trust, me no photoshop magic would have made this place look good, so it was really difficult getting a nice shot of the crumbling facade, but after a few creative angles I got the shots that were needed.

Hotel number two was a different cookie, being aesthetically immaculate . As a result, shooting this place was an absolute breeze. After finishing the second hotel, the remainder of my brief was to get out and about in the resort and grab as many photos as I could, to demonstrate my prowess with the camera.

This meant driving around like a maniac, to shoot as many things as possible. Not an easy thing to do when you have absolutely no idea where you’re going, you’re absoluetly dead on your feet….and you have a plane to catch! I ended up traveling along the coast and taking a few shots on the various beaches and marinas before drifting back in land and finishing off my last memory card on a few golf courses!??!

You’ll be glad to hear that I made my 8:30pm flight on time, and landed back in Bristol at 11pm. In bed by 12:30. That is how you do portugal in a day!

After processing all the shots and sending them off, I’ve since been told that the marketing team were very impressed with the quality of the final images…which is nice to know after the blood, sweat and tears that went into producing them!

I’m now waiting to hear as to whether I haver the job, but as soom as I know I’ll be telling you all! Anyway, below are a few of the images from that manic day…all copyright of Jet2holiday Limited 🙂

A hotel library!?

A boat!

A Lighthouse 🙂

Just writing this post has reminded me how tyring that day in Portugal was….I’m off to bed!

(Got a great photo for you next week….just though I’d drop that in!)

~ by imagespike on April 19, 2009.

One Response to “Travel Photographer…or Not?”

  1. Seems like driving around like a maniac has paid off for you. The images are absolutely amazing.
    I’d love to see some shots of the first hotel. Maybe a comparison of a tourist-like shot and then one where you found a better angle to make it look good.

Leave a Reply

 
