The Natural History Museum

Hi folks!

I hope everyone is well, and enjoying life!

You may have noticed that the blog has been taken up recently with a proliferation of portraits, so to keep you all focused and entertained I thought I would drop into the blog an exciting architectural photo. “Oooohh”, I hear you all say, well get ready to mutter a double “oooohh” as for the first time ever I’m going to post Tilt Shift images on the blog…”amazing” I hear you all say! 

Now, I can hear you all muttering again (don’t worry, I can’t really hear you…that would be mental), why would Matt want to ruin a truly exciting architectural photo with tilt shift effects? Well, to be quite honest I don’t know, aside from the fact I thought it might look cool!

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Tilt Shift Photography, it’s a technique normally associated with expensive lenses and even more expensive medium format cameras to address perspective issues when photographing buildings.

For those really techy people (like me ;-P) the technique is based upon the Scheimpflug principle, which I won’t bore you with (because I don’t know anything about it and don’t pretent to) but the results of which are photos with isolated areas of focus and very shallow depth of field, which I will go into a tad more detail later in the post.

Anyway, to help set the context, I recently visited the Natural History Museum in London, which under normal circumstances should have been a truly epic geek experience, but due to a combination of about ten pints of beer the night before, millions of school kids, and a very warm building, my trip to the museum was pretty grim.

Whilst the exhibits didn’t recieve the undivided attention for which they deserve, the architectural splendour of this building certainly did, simply because it was so impressive you couldn’t help but be amazed.

With camera in hand I started snapping away and here are the best results:

And the tilt shift versions:

As you can see, the tilt shift effect can be used to selectively focus the viewer on specific parts of an image. Normally, when I want to bring attention to something I do this using shadow, so this blurring approach is quite new to me. At the moment I’m not sure as to whether I actually like the effect, it may just be that I have used it in on the wrong photo….who cares anyway, still looks kind of cool!?

I mentioned a few posts back that I was getting ready for another big photoshoot, utilising models, flash, props etc…well, weather permitting it’s this weekend and I can’t wait. I can assure you that it’s likely to be one of the darkest shoots I’ve done yet, did i say it involves a sack?

The finished results will be posted in a fortnight, subject to everything going alright on the day…no pressure 😉

Untill next time…..

~ by imagespike on February 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
