Misty Coastal Sunrise

Hi guys,

Unfortunately I’ve been bogged down with the day job at the moment and so didn’t get a chance to make a post last week ;-( Anyway, I’m back on top of things now and have got another lovely picture to share with you kind folk!

For those of you who don’t know, I recently went on holiday to Ibiza, and had a fantastic time out their shooting. Whilst the island does have quite a reputation as being a bit of a hedonistic hot spot, I was pleasantly surprised at how chilled out the place was. I stayed on a small resort call Santa Eulalia, which is on the eastern side of the island, and about half an hour by car from both San Antonio and Ibiza Town. Whilst these latter two places are more notorious for the nightlife, Santa Eulalia in stark contrast was much more chilled out with a more relaxed way of life…which is just what I was after!

For some time now I have been trying to nail a decent coastal photo, in particular of wave action. I’m sure most of you know the type of shot I’m talking about, where a slow shutter speed is used to create a misty effect to the water.

As Cheltenham is fairly land locked, I don’t really get much of a chance to try this type of shot and when I have been near the coast; my efforts have always been disappointing. Anyway, as Ibiza is an island, with its own healthy share of coastline, I thought it would be worth having a crack.

After getting up at 5:30am on day one of the holiday I set off to the coast and found a good location out in the rocks. Unfortunately it was a perfectly cloudless morning, and the sunrise was really disappointing finishing in a flash. Not the spectacular shot I was after!

Not to be perturbed, the following day I was up and out with the camera. Again no party, the sky was as bland as ever. Day three, the same. Day four, with terrible hangover…the same. I was on holiday for a total of eight days, and for seven of those the sunrises were really, really disappointing.

And then came my last day…day no. 8. As I’m sure you can imagine I was hugely disappointed that all my really early mornings had bore no success, so was expecting the same disappointment as I trudged to the beach. Not the case, finally, the clouds had come out to play and at that sight of all that glorious Strata I knew that my luck had finally changed!

The sunrise that morning was spectacular, and I suppose it shows that persistence or pure stubbornness is an essential requirement in photography. It could have been so easy just to nurse the hangover and stay in bed. Fortunately I didn’t!

 

I’ve got quite a few shots from that morning and I’m really pleased to say that I’m happy with all of them.

I Finally I bagged my misty coastal shot!

Until next week!

~ by imagespike on October 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
