Cyber Cathedral

Hi folks!

I hope this post finds you all well!

I had some great feedback on my last post both here on the blog and on various forums, which is always greatly appreciated as it’s nice to know that the work you are doing is liked by others, so thank you!

I always try and mix up my posts each week, just to add a touch of variety and to this extent I thought I would try all my architectural shots seems to be of old buildings, be it towers, churches, cathedrals etc.

I don’t quite know why I have this bias towards all things old and dusty as I don’t think it’s an accurate representation of my tastes. Anybody who knows me well will know that I am somewhat of an aficionado of all things science fiction, in fact some of my friends would even go as far as calling me a bit of geek! Anyway, to indulge my technocratic side I’ve been deliberately keeping my eyes open for more modern and unusual buildings to shoot and I’m pleased to say that I have found a few that I think will make great images so intend to shoot a few of these buildings in the forthcoming weeks.

The shot below strangely enough was not one that I had staked out, instead being quite a surpise find. I recently went to the Imax cinema in Birmingham to watch the new Batman film “Dark Knight” which in itself is a fantastic movie, but when seen in the Imax was truly amazing! Anyway, on exiting the cinema I realised that the interior of the building looked a bit like something out of Bladerunner or Terminator and so much to the dismay of my friends, I grabbed my camera and tripod from the car, and after dodging the security guards sneaked back inside the building!

It really was a clandestine shoot, with me having to sneak around columns and staircases to avoid capture and for about 3 minutes I did, which gave me just enough time to fire off a handfull of shots, before being busted.

After explaining to the security guards that I was not actually a terrorist and instead just a geeky photographer they believed me and let me go. Que even more embarrasment for my fellow Imax going friends!

Anyway, time is pressing and I need to work out my lighting set up for a Dave Hill style shoot for this weekend….so, untill next week!

Happy snapping!

~ by imagespike on September 16, 2008.

3 Responses to “Cyber Cathedral”

  1. […] gives security guards the run-around, and sneaks an SLR camera into Millenium Point. Since the public contributed most of the […]

  2. Looks like the inside of an amazing spacecraft! Can imagine people floating around in there.

  3. [Would be nice to see a bigger version – the ‘big on black’ link isn’t working though…]

Leave a Reply

 
