The Satsuma

Hey folks,

I think I may have said elsewhere on the blog that getting hold of models can be a right pain. It’s so frustrating sometimes, you go out buy all the lighting kit have all the expensive camera gear and then no one will let you take their photo!

As a work around I’ve started doing a little bit of street photography, at the moment you’re free to take photos of anyone in a public place without consent (UK only) so potentially the amount of material to work with is infinite. If you’re going to go down this route then you clearly need to be sensitive with the camera, I don’t think it would go down very well hanging around a kids playground with a long lens, no matter how honourable your intentions. To get a basic idea of what you can and can’t do I suggest you read this guide to photographer rights in the UK.

Obviously if you’re trying to emulate the work of some of my favourite photographers like Dave Hill and Jim Fiscus, then you aren’t going to get anywhere close to their effect due to the inability to provide sufficient off camera lighting, but at least it gives you the opportunity to practice your Photoshop techniques, so when you do have the flash setup, you know that you’re going to be cooking on gas!

Despite the absence of a whole rack of off camera strobes, you can still get excellent effects shooting people using only daylight. One talented young chap by the name of Joey Lawrence has applied the principles of excellent Photoshop post processing to a whole array of subjects who have not been subject to elaborate lighting setups. For inspiration I suggest you check out his site here and pay particular attention to his portfolio on the homeless in Toronto. A highly emotive and provocative collection of photos which he has told me were all shot using nothing but daylight.

Anyway, below is a shot that I recently took whilst out and about in Birmingham, UK. Immediately after taking this shot something kind of weird happened. A woman approached me and asked if I’d be interested in taking a stress test?? So, ever the helpful lad, I accompanied her into quite a swanky conference building around the corner, and was promptly hooked up to a set of electrodes which measured my stress levels??

After being asked a stack of random questions she then asked if I had heard of Scientology (AAAggghhhhh, the trap had been sprung!). She then started to turn the screw, asking if would buy a series of books about the merits of Scientology and relaxation. On this note, imagine my glee when I whipped out of my back pocket a book on Yoga, courtesy of the Hare Krishna below. Totally priceless!

The Satsuma

Best viewed big on black here

Until next week!

~ by imagespike on April 18, 2008.

One Response to “The Satsuma”

  1. This shot is amazing. I can’t stop looking at it. The same goes for the one of the guy in the chair with the stuffed animal (below this post). I am truly impressed by your work, keep it coming! Would you care to share you post processing of this shot?

Leave a Reply

 
