Dark Tower

Hello people,

Whilst driving around with work I’m always looking out for new locations for my landscape shots. I don’t know what it is at the moment but all of a sudden I’ve started noticing towers all over the place. Maybe it’s because of my post a few weeks ago of blacko tower that has sparked my observational skills but their is no doubting the fact that I feel as though I have driven my Renault Clio straight into middle earth.

For those of you who don’t know, the vast majority of these towers are classed as folly’s, which basically means they serve absolutely no purpose at all, simply being erected by somebody ages ago just for fun. Now to be quite honest, building a 100 ft stone tower is not me idea of fun and on a sliding scale is probably down there with cracking open rocks with a heavy blunt object, but hey, whatever made the ancestors happy.

The folly below is quite a local one to me here in Tewkesbury and is probably one of the more famous examples, particularly in the Cotswolds. It was designed by a chap called James Wyatt under instruction from Lady Coventry, who basically wanted the tower built to see if she could see it from her house in Worcester, 35km away. Nice.

I suppose it’s worth remembering that this was 1794 and they didn’t have TV, so what could be better than spending time of an evening, seeing whether or not you can see a dot of a tower 35km away!? This is starting to bring me back to ideas of fun and splitting rocks!…….

Anyway, here is Broadway tower in all it’s glory:

Dark Tower

Anyway, that’s about it for this week, until next time!

~ by imagespike on March 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
