The Architect

Hello people,

First things first, I hope everybody has had a good week!

As usual things have been pretty hectic as of late, with a great deal of my time being taken up on various mini photography projects. Interestingly enough, the majority of these projects are commercially orientated as opposed to me simply shooting things for the shear hell of it….yeeehaaa! On this note, I’m planning on slowly adding pages to the site that detail and provide updates on my commercial projects.

To be honest I’m expecting the development of the commercial aspect of imagespike to get going very very slowly (think tortoise in a diving suit) as I do have a day job! Anyway, in light of the fact that I do have a blog I thought it would be kind of interesting documenting the development of a small commercial enterprise.

Righto, back to this weeks shot! Last week I introduced you all to the wonderful world of Andrzej Dragan. In an effort to emulate some of the themes of his work. last week I posted what I consider to be quite a dark and sinister shot. However, in addition to some of his more sinister images, Dragan’s work also consists of many images involving older subjects.

To try and understand further his post processing techniques I tried to emulate his workflow on an older subject. I must admit to date this has been the most complex post processing project I have undertaken, with the finished Photoshop image having in excess of 20 layers and weighed in at a colossal 290mb! I could hear my pc groaning under the strain, I wouldn’t be surprised if it now had a hernia!

The Architect

Best viewed <a here big on black.

Whilst applying the the Dragan effect to the above photo my main objective was to build upon the distinguished appearance of the subject. The hours that went into editing this shot I feel paid off, however, no amount of editing will restore the blown highlights to the left of the subjects face…..make mental note…..make sure you get the shot right in camera!

Anyway, as ever, if anyone would like a few tips on photo editing then just drop me an email or comment.

Until next week!

~ by imagespike on February 21, 2008.

3 Responses to “The Architect”

  1. Hi there,
    Just came across your site by googling Tewkesbury Abbey…what a weird world!
    But so glad I did as I really love your work!…how do I contact you?

  2. Hi Lisa,

    Thanks for the kind comments, I’m glad you like my work! I can be contacted via email on:

    matthalstead@yahoo.co.uk

    Hope to hear from you soon!

    Matt

  3. hey very niiice shot man…….

    would love to try something like this….what kinda pp do you do??

Leave a Reply

 
