Self Inflicted

Hello folks!

It never ceases to amaze me when I think about how many amazing photographers there are out there. I often spend time researching the work of other photographers in an effort to break down there workflow and then apply there methods to my own work, in essence reverse engineer their work. Such an approach not only proves to be very inspirational but also serves to improve both my photography and post processing techniques.

Although I’ve known about the following photographer for some time it’s only been since quite recently that I had another look at his work and to be honest his work just blew me away! I’m sure your all wondering who it is I’m twittering about so to put you all out of your misery I’ll tell you who it is…………..Andrzej Dragan

The work of Andrzej Dragan has a distinct surreal style to it which has now been christened the Dragan effect. Aside from the fact that many of his shots have a dark undertone to them, his camera work and post processing is of a distinct style that brings out all the skin/facial details of his subjects. This technique he has used to best effect on older subjects who thanks to wrinkles tend to have more textured features which really befit from this process.

I decided to have a go at his style with a self portrait. As I’m still a spritely young lad with a clear shortage of wrinkles 😉 I decided to go for a more darker and sinister look!

Self Inflicted

Best seen big on black:

View On Black

Whilst researching the work of Dragan I’ve stumbled across numerous Photoshop Actions that claim to recreate the Dragan look. To put it quite simply an Action is a series of Photoshop editing processes that can be installed into Photoshop, clicking on the action will then run the processes, automatically editing your shot for you.

This automation of processes can be really handy if it’s used to speed up often repetitive and laborious editing requirements. Personally I always stay away from such actions as they kind of cheapen creative process. I find it hard to believe that convincing images can be created by just one click of the mouse in reality the results more than often think look pretty lame and nowhere near as good as the real thing!

Anyway enough of that! As ever if anyone is interested in how I achieved the above look then drop me a comment and I’ll see if I can help!

Until next week!

~ by imagespike on February 13, 2008.

3 Responses to “Self Inflicted”

  1. I love that picture, I’ve been trying to emulate the Joey L and Dave Hill looks myself as well. I’d love to talk post processing with you.

    Here’s a link to my flickr site, if you get chance take a look and tell me what you think.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. Ooops forgot the flickr link

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/24167640@N05/?find=cjcastan%40yahoo.com

  3. […] friends to improve my facebook profile picture, which they all thought was a tad on the dark side (Here). As i’ve never been the type of person who liked being told what to do, I thought I would […]

Leave a Reply

 
