Hyperrealism and the Little Sister

Hi folks,

I know, I know, I didn’t make a post yesterday, unfortunately I had a very busy time in my day job (the wonderful world of Town Planning) and I just didn’t get a chance. I would tell you all about it but I’m sure there are plenty of other blogs that could do quite a capable job of boring you to tears so I won’t bother!

Moving swiftly on…Now, as I’m sure you are all aware from last weeks post, I’m now in receipt of all of my flash gear and also my new Nikon D300, so after harping on about all this kit I thought I’d better stop talking the talk and get busy taking a few photos!

I’ve always been fascinated in a style of photography/art that goes by the name of hyperrealism. When hyperrealism is taken in an artistic context (Hyperrealism can also be applied to mathematical and philosophical thought) it tends to be in a form that blends perceptions of reality with fantasy, blurring the lines between what is real and what is not.

If all this sounds kind of weird, then just think of it as the special effects in the new film 300 – although the special effects look realistic, you kind of know that they aren’t. You can also read books based upon this principle, just check out nearly any of the work by one of my favourite authors Philip. K. Dick, who takes the subject of hyperrealism to a much darker part of the human psyche.

Anyway, enough of my ramblings, here is a photo taken along the lines of this principle:

The Little sister

Remembering the notion of Hyperrealism, using a ridiculous amount of layers in photoshop I’ve worked the photograph in order to create a more surreal interpretation of the scene before me.

To be totally successful with this type of photography you have to have a well lit subject and you have to understand the principles of flash and lighting. I’ll be the first to admit that the the above shot isn’t quite up there with the likes of Dave Hill but for a first time effort with the flash I’m chuffed to bits with the results.

Anyway, that’s enough of a mind bend from me, I promise that next weeks post will be a traditional and really real good old landscape!

~ by imagespike on January 24, 2008.

3 Responses to “Hyperrealism and the Little Sister”

  1. Wow! I’m really loving this effect!!!! Any possibility of a tutorial? Workflow? Would be much appreciated

  2. very cool.

  3. Hyperrealism doesn’t extend to photography, it’s about creating drawings or paintings so real, people confuse them with photographs. Or sculptures so real, that the only thing that betrays their reality is thier stillness.

Leave a Reply

 
