The Plug

Hello people,

I must admit, the is one of the hardest posts that I have ever had to write! The temptation to switch the computer off is unbelievable. Below is a little clue as to why I’m considering shirking my weekly blog duty!

Obligatory New Camera Photo

Yes, I’m sure you’re wondering what I’m twittering on about, but just look at the photo more closely, yes that’s right, hiding behind the ruler, and just to the left of the hole punch is a my new camera, a Nikon D300. I haven’t even opened it yet!

Must regain focus…..Right, OK then, I’ll get on with this weeks post. the shot below is one I took some time ago whilst visiting Wales but have only recently had the opportunity to process.

Imagine my surprise whilst wondering along the beach and suddenly stumbling upon this. A plug. It even has a chain.

The Plug

The sight of this plug conjured up memories of my parents telling me that when the tide went out it was because somebody had pulled the plug out on the sea bed. Imagine my delight in actually finding this “plug”!

That day got stranger the longer it went on, I’d walked a few miles down the beach before stumbling across the plug so on my return leg I decided to try and take a short through the dunes. Big mistake.

Imagine my delight when I stumbled upon a large sign in the dunes, warning people not to kick metal objects as they could be explosive. I’d inadvertently wondered across an abandoned second world war firing range. To be perfectly honest I was more amused than anything else and I can assure you that if I had found any metal objects poking out of the ground then I’d be straight in there poking around at it!

On a slightly different note, I’m pleased to say that I’m now virtually in receipt of all the bits and bobs which comprise my flash kit. I must admit it has been really difficult obtaining all the parts as lightweight off camera strobe (strobism) hasn’t caught on yet in the UK so I’ve had to order much of my kit from the states and Hong Kong.

For the benefit of anyone interested in off camera flash, part of next weeks post will be a break down of all the required kit and a list of all the cheapest places you can buy it from. I’m sure this will be really helpful for other people based in the UK.

Anyway, that’s enough from me! Until Wednesday!

~ by imagespike on January 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
