Curlers!

Hey Hey Hey!

I know this post is a day late, unfortunately I’ve been very busy with the more mundane aspects of life (Town Planning) and didn’t get a chance to post yesterday…Anyway I’m back now!

For all those folks out there who have been following my ramblings, I’m sure you’ll be aware that I have been wanting to supplement my landscape photography with more people orientated photos. My inspiration for such a move has in the main come from the likes of Dave Hill and Jill Greenberg.

Although much of the work undertaken by the above photographers, makes use of comprehensive light setups and then extensive post processing, I’ve been seeing if I can get anywhere near the infamous “Dave Hill Effect” using a simple flash set up with a greater reliance on photoshop.

After finishing this little mini shoot I’m really pleased with the results, although I’ll be the first to admit that their still remains massive room for improvement in my current technique. From what I have learned so far, to recreate the “Dave Hill Look” you need to have good light, either natural or more preferably from off camera flash, to give the shot more pop.

One thing I would like to say is that although off camera flash is better, it doesn’t need to be a massively expensive set up. The shot taken below simply relied on one off camera strobe with a pair of white underpants dangled in front to reduce the intensity of the flash (that last bit about the pants is the truth, I’m in the process of buying a softbox), the rest was down to photoshop.

As I begin to get my head around flash photography I’m sure my technique will improve massively, and don’t worry, I’ll be sharing all my tip and secrets here on ImageSpike!

Incidentally, if anybody has any questions on any of my shots, including my Dave Hill effects, then drop me a message, I’ll email you back as soon as I can!

Curlers

~ by imagespike on December 4, 2007.

3 Responses to “Curlers!”

  1. The contrast between the hot pink polka-dot robe and the floral print of the orange and yellow wallpaper is great. What a fun and interesting picture…

    I LOVE when photographers “get” color! 🙂

  2. Hey Lill, I’m glad you like the shot! Thanks for the comment!

  3. i’ve surfed the net for almost hours just searching for how to do the the dave hill effect,and i found that your work is the nearest to hill’s.can you please give me the idea how you get the effect using photoshop?

Leave a Reply

 
