Windswept

Hello people,

This weekend I travelled down the M5 motorway to a really hip place called Weston Super Mare. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Weston, you might be interested to know that it is one of the most fashionable places to visit north of Brighton.

Ok, ok, I’ll be honest with you; Weston is pretty drab, as most seaside towns are when you visit them outside of the summer months. It reminded me of a place that you would find in a Stephen King novel, amusement arcades locked for the winter, empty streets with nobody about and a completely desolate beach save for a few gulls. The only people who I did see were all elderly; I mean Weston seems to be a Mecca for those over 70. It’s as if the town is the gateway to heaven, where all these little people, waving sticks and driving mobility scooters gather and wait to be let in. It’s enough to send a shiver down your spine!

Anyway, after painting such a merry picture of Weston (I’m sure it’s ace when the sun is shining) it’s now time to crack on with the photography. As my nearest seaside resort, in purely photography terms, Weston is a fantastic resource. That day Instead of clinging to the beach as I often do, I ventured off in the car with the intention of taking a few shots from a small peninsula that runs off from the main beach.

The peninsula turned out to be a moderately sized hill which descends into the Bristol Channel and which turned out to be an amazing, albeit extremely windswept location. On my return from its tip the wind was almost lifting me off my feet and as I gathered altitude it was a real challenge to keep the camera and tripod steady for a smooth exposure.

The tree in this shot, gives a good indication as to how much of a battering the peninsula receives from the off shore winds, with all of the trees exhibiting a distinct lean to the left!

Windswept Tree

I must admit I do feel kind of guilty for slamming Weston Super Mare, so I’m going to put things right. For the record, “Weston is fantastic so check it out here“. And for all my OAP readers, get yourself a mobility scooter here.

Until Monday!

~ by imagespike on November 15, 2007.

5 Responses to “Windswept”

  1. Wow! That is good, can I have something for my newspapers – the Weston & Worle News, including a bit about you? kind regards

  2. Hi Carol, I’m glad you like the shot and am extremely flattered that you would like to include some of my work in your paper. Just drop me an email to matt@neilhadley.com and let me know what you would like.

  3. Stunningly beautiful. I love this.

    =Paul

  4. Glad you like it Paul. Many thanks for the comment!

  5. I love the contrast between the green grass and the purple sky. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

 
