Mystical Sun Worshippers

Hello people,

To be perfectly honest I don’t think that I have ever really had much of an interest in wildlife photography. All though I’m sure that it can be really rewarding, the whole idea of sitting in a hide or garden shed, shooting a few sparrows just doesn’t do it for me, I suppose I just don’t have the patience for it. In light of this the shot below is a bit of a rarity for me.

It all started on Saturday morning, the previous few days had been really foggy here in Gloucestershire so I thought I would get up really early and head up to the top of the Malvern Hills, with the intention of getting a sunrise photo from above the fog.

As is always the same with these early shoots, everything was rushed and kind of chaotic. After leaving the house I was fairly sure that I would have time to climb the Malverns before sunrise and then I remembered that the clocks had gone back a couple of weeks earlier, so I had lost one hour of my morning. This meant that there would be no chance of getting to where I needed to be before sunrise.

Whilst considering where to go I remembered a little spot that I always drive past on my way to work so thought I would give it a shot.

The cows were a total suprise and made the perfect foreground detail to the Cotswold’s backdrop. The great thing about cows is that they don’t do anything, they just sit still, breath, eat and $hit and that’s it. This means they are great when working with slow shutter speeds and multiple exposures as they don’t move, nobody likes a blurry bovine in a photo!

Anyway, I hope you like the photo!

Mystical Sun Worshippers

Until Monday!

~ by imagespike on November 8, 2007.

5 Responses to “Mystical Sun Worshippers”

  1. Spectacular photo! You somehow eliminated the flat quality of a normal photo and gave this depth as if one could walk into the picture.

  2. Hey Kym, many thanks for the comment!

    I’m glad you like the photo! This is one of those photos that needs to be seen big for the greatest impact. (check your email, your new wallpaper awaits!)

  3. Definitely a great photo. And I think cows are a smart step in your path to being a wild life photographer. 🙂

  4. Hey cruxphoto, thanks for taking the time to comment! I’m glad you like the shot!

  5. Thank you. I’ve saved the photo and, if I ever so a piece on the wildlife of cows, I’ll have the perfect photo;>

Leave a Reply

 
