Aftermath – Runner Up!

Hi people,

Today is a really good day as I get to share some great news with you! I recently entered a competition that was running in the Cotswold Life magazine.

The competition brief was to take a photo that best portrays the Cotswold’s, and in light of all the recent flooding I thought that I would make this the focus of my entry.

The shot below was taken at sunset behind an old mill in Tewkesbury. The mill is situated on the banks of the River Severn, the mess in the foreground are normally lush reeds, but after the flooding they had taken a right pasting!

Anyway the sunset was spot on and very dramatic, and there were a few other people there snapping away with disposable cameras. I think they were quite surprised to see me turn up, jump over the railings and get down and dirty in the reeds/swamp of the river itself, David Bellamy style!

Rolling in mud aside, I always say you have to be in it to win it, and in this case I almost did. I managed to spike second place with my shot, so I missed out on the grand prize, but I did manage to get my shot on the front cover of the magazine, which I think is way cool!

This is the shot that was entered:

Aftermath

And here is a cover shot of the magazine:

Cotswold Life Front Cover

For all those people who have landed at my site in search for David Bellamy, said individual can be viewed here.

Till Monday!

~ by imagespike on October 25, 2007.

2 Responses to “Aftermath – Runner Up!”

  1. Certainly a prize-winner. Most dramatic.

  2. Congrats! And beautiful shot. I love when clouds go from the bright orange to deep purple.

Leave a Reply

 
