View from the Top

Hello people!

This weekend I was fortunate enough to be able to spend time at one of the UK’s most exotic holiday resorts – Blackpool. I would like to be able to say that it was all “sun, sea and sangria” but it was more like drizzle, more wet and cold tea.

I often feel that Blackpool is ridiculed by many for being a place of garish tack, cheap burgers and dilapidated attractions, all finished with a kiss me quick hat, and to be honest Blackpool is all of these things. That’s why I love it so much!

Blackpool was and still is a Mecca for the working class and maybe it’s a result of my northern mill town upbringing that enables me to appreciate the place, or the cheap beer, but regardless I always seem to have a great time there.

Underneath all the bright neon and smiling clown faces remains the Victorian core at the heart of the resort. If you look hard enough through the peeling gloss which is Blackpool modern, the Victorian splendour is still evident in the architecture dotted throughout the town.

The height of this early Victorian opulence manifests itself most evidently in the form of the 158m of cantilevered steel which is Blackpool Tower. I must admit, the tower and Tower World centre below are an amazing alternative to the more modern attractions at the resort, especially when cold and wet, and what other location could provide such potential for spike material!

The shot below was taken from the observation deck at the top of the tower at approximately 115.9m. I had to shoot through glass, which incidentally was extremely dirty so apologies if I missed removing some of the dirt when processing this image, next time I will be taking a shammy leather for grime removal1

The view is to the south, looking in the direction of the Pleasure Beach. The main road running to the right of the shot is the Promenade, which at this time of the year is home to the illuminations, which unfortunately aren’t visible at this height.

View from the Top

Anyway, I for those of you who like the above shot, you’ll be pleased to know that I have another similar type of shot which I intend to publish in the forthcoming weeks along with a few others from inside the tower.

In the meantime, for those individuals who would like to get a further taste of Blackpool, click here.

Until Thursday!

~ by imagespike on October 15, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
