The Fool

Hello people,

As my last post was somewhat on the sombre side, I thought I would try a change of tack with today’s image.

Where I currently live in Tewkesbury, aside from getting wet, it’s also famous for its medieval heritage, in particular a large battle which took place during the War of the Roses in 1471. Being the forward thinking town that it is, Tewkesbury celebrate this slaughter with its annual Medieval Festival. The festival basically provides the opportunity for simple folk to dress up in armour and romp around a field a la mock battle, throwing large swords and arrows at each other.

Ever looking for some interesting spike material, I thought that the battle would provide an interesting subject matter, offering the potential to capture a stray arrow in the eye or some other madness.

As I had quite a cumbersome tripod with me, I was fairly disappointed to find myself shooting from behind the spectators, to avoid getting in the way. After spending quite a lengthy amount of time waiting for the battle to get within shooting range, imagine my delight when out of nowhere this idiot in a box sprung out in front of me, ruining my shot.

The Fool

As quickly as he materialised he disappeared, and I only managed to fire of a couple of shots of him and sadly I didn’t quite get the face in focus properly. Anyway, I still thought the buffoon was worth spiking!

For those sick folk expecting a shot of an arrow in the eye, then please click here.

Till Monday!

~ by imagespike on October 11, 2007.

2 Responses to “The Fool”

  1. I love this. Serendipity.

  2. Many thanks for the kind comment Barbara!

Leave a Reply

 
